This is the "Databases" page of the "Nursing Clinical Inquiry Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing Clinical Inquiry Resources   Tags: clinical inquiry, evidence based medicine, evidence based nursing, innovation, nursing, oakwood, research  

Quickly and easily find resources for your clinical inquiry project.
Last Updated: Jan 20, 2015 URL: http://oakwood.libguides.com/inquiry Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Introduction to Clinical Inquiry & Innovation Institute Resources

This guide is designed to accompany the Nursing Clinical Inquiry & Innovation Institute session at Oakwood Healthcare on April 28, 2014. 

Click on the tabs across the top of the page to view additional Nursing Resources in each category. 

      

    Access to Library Resources

    The Oakwood Hospital Medical Library resources (databases, full-text journals and electronic textbooks) are available for Oakwood employees and affiliated students.

    If you are using an Oakwood computer, you will not need any user name or password to access the online resources.

    For offsite access from home or another location, you will need to sign in to reach the library resources.  Contact the Oakwood Hospital Medical Library at (313) 593-7685 or medlibrary@oakwood.org to obtain Remote Access information.

        

      Key Nursing Resources

      • CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
        The CINAHL database (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the premier index for the nursing and allied health literature.
      • Nursing Reference Center
        Nursing Reference Center is the premier evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses. Nurses can get answers to questions quickly, strengthen their nursing skills, and read full-text journal articles anytime, and anywhere.
      • PubMed / Medline
        PubMed is an online database from the National Library of Medicine that provides access to millions of citations in the Medline database. It covers the fields of biomedicine, health, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

      Other Clinical Inquiry Resources

      • Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)
        The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of healthcare for all Americans.
      • AHRQ Quality Indicators
        The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) has developed an array of health care decision making and research tools. The Quality Indicators (QIs) are measures of health care quality that make use of readily available hospital inpatient administrative data.
      • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
        CDSR contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
      • Essential Nursing Resources / Inter-Agency Council on Information Resources in Nursing
        An excellent resource for locating nursing information. It includes print, electronic, and web
        sources to support nursing practice, education, administration, and research activities.
      • HSTAT (Health Services / Technology Assessment Textx)
        A resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health-care decision making. It ncludes evidence-based reviews from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
      • National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) / AHRQ
        Produced by the federal government, this is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

      Access to Key Library Resources

      • Oakwood Journal List
        The Oakwood Journal List provides access to more than 12,000 online journals, including non-medical titles, via several databases. Many of these journals are accessible only from Oakwood facilities.
      • Library Catalog
        The Oakwood Library Catalog contains the books at both the Oakwood-Dearborn and Oakwood-Southshore Libraries.
      • Access Medicine
        Access Medicine provides access to about 80 medical textbooks (including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine), thousands of images, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, and a comprehensive search platform.
      • CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
        CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals, dating back to 1937. The full text for more than 760 journals, 275 books/monographs, 130 Evidence-Based Care Sheets and nearly 170 Quick Lessons is included.
      • Clinical Key
        ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine providing health professionals with access to current medical literature, including journals, e-books, videos, practice guidelines, and patient education handouts. It includes access to hundreds of journals and over a thousand e-books.
      • Cochrane Databases
        This suite of databases contain high-quality, independent evidence to facilitate health care decision-making. It includes: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessments Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
      • DynaMed
        DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for use at the point-of-care. It contains clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics that are continually updated by monitoring the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic review databases. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content and conclusions are changed as appropriate, representing a synthesis of the best available evidence.
      • Micromedex
        Micromedex provides quick access to information on diseases, toxicology, and drugs. It includes features to assist with drug comparison, drug identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing. Helpful laboratory tools and conversion calculators are also available within this resource.
      • Nursing Reference Center
        Nursing Reference Center is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources for nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care. It offers the best available and most recent clinical evidence from thousands of full-text documents. Features include: Evidence-Based Care Sheets, nursing skills and skill competency checklists, CE modules, patient education handouts, and best practice guidelines.
      • Ovid - Medline, Books & Journals
        Ovid offers access to online databases (such as Medline), along with full-text journals and electronic textbooks.
      • PubMed / Medline
        PubMed is an online database from the National Library of Medicine that provides access to millions of citations in the Medline database and other life science journals and online books. PubMed covers the fields of biomedicine, health, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. By using the link on the library website you will be able to access Oakwood’s e-journals directly from Pubmed.
      • STAT!Ref
        STAT!Ref provides access to the full text of over 40 nursing and medical reference books. Additional tools include Stedman’s Medical Dictionary, MedCalc 3000 (an array of medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools), ICD-10 and ACP's PIER, a point-of-care decision support tool consisting of over 400 evidence-based modules.

      Oakwood Librarian

      Profile Image
      Valerie Reid
      Contact Info
      Oakwood Hospital - Dearborn
      Medical Library
      18101 Oakwood Blvd.
      Dearborn, MI 48124
      (313) 593-7692
      Send Email
      Hours:
      7:30am-5:00pm Monday through Friday

      Oakwood Library Hours

      Monday - Friday - 7:30am-5:00pm

      Closed Weekends & Holidays

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip