The Medical Library staff welcomes you to Oakwood Hospital. We are a full-service library and are known for our excellent customer service and quick turnaround times. We look forward to working with you!
Last Updated: Jun 26, 2014
This guide is designed to help you get started and find the information you need at the Oakwood Hospital Medical library.
Contact us if you need assistance with anything:
- Call us - 313-593-7685
- Email us - email@example.com
- Visit us - We are located on the first floow in the Fitzgerald Pavilion; down the hall from the Kalman Auditorium
If you are using an Oakwood computer, you will be able to access all of the Medical Library electronic resources (journals, databases, and books).
If you are an employee accessing the Medical Library from outside Oakwood Hospital, contact the Medical Library for a list of Remote Access passwords.
If you are a physician accessing the Medical Library from outside Oakwood Hospital, use the Physician Portal (OakCare Connect).
Contact the Medical Library for assistance - (313) 593-7685 or firstname.lastname@example.org
The Oakwood Medical Library has a total of 12 computers for your use -- 4 in the Medical Library and 8 in the Computer Lab.
They are equipped with Windows 7 and the MicroSoft Office 2010 suite. You can access OakNet, OakCare, and all other Oakwood applications. EndNote is available on two of the computers.
- Oakwood Journal List
The Oakwood Journal List provides access to more than 12,000 online journals, including non-medical titles, via several databases. Many of these journals are accessible only from Oakwood facilities.
- Library Catalog
The Oakwood Library Catalog contains the books at both the Oakwood-Dearborn and Oakwood-Southshore Libraries.
- Access Medicine
Access Medicine provides access to about 80 medical textbooks (including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine), thousands of images, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, and a comprehensive search platform.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals, dating back to 1937. The full text for more than 760 journals, 275 books/monographs, 130 Evidence-Based Care Sheets and nearly 170 Quick Lessons is included.
- Clinical Key
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine providing health professionals with access to current medical literature, including journals, e-books, videos, practice guidelines, and patient education handouts. It includes access to hundreds of journals and over a thousand e-books.
- Cochrane Databases
This suite of databases contain high-quality, independent evidence to facilitate health care decision-making. It includes: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessments Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for use at the point-of-care. It contains clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics that are continually updated by monitoring the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic review databases. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content and conclusions are changed as appropriate, representing a synthesis of the best available evidence.
Micromedex provides quick access to information on diseases, toxicology, and drugs. It includes features to assist with drug comparison, drug identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing. Helpful laboratory tools and conversion calculators are also available within this resource.
- Nursing Reference Center
Nursing Reference Center is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources for nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care. It offers the best available and most recent clinical evidence from thousands of full-text documents. Features include: Evidence-Based Care Sheets, nursing skills and skill competency checklists, CE modules, patient education handouts, and best practice guidelines.
- Ovid - Medline, Books & Journals
Ovid offers access to online databases (such as Medline), along with full-text journals and electronic textbooks.
- PubMed / Medline
PubMed is an online database from the National Library of Medicine that provides access to millions of citations in the Medline database and other life science journals and online books. PubMed covers the fields of biomedicine, health, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. By using the link on the library website you will be able to access Oakwood’s e-journals directly from Pubmed.
STAT!Ref provides access to the full text of over 40 nursing and medical reference books. Additional tools include Stedman’s Medical Dictionary, MedCalc 3000 (an array of medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools), ICD-10 and ACP's PIER, a point-of-care decision support tool consisting of over 400 evidence-based modules.
- Literature Search Services
A professional Oakwood librarian will search the literature for your specific topic. Most searches are completed within 48 hours. Clinical emergencies/urgent requests receive immediate attention. To request a literature search, click on the link above to fill out the form online, or call or visit the library.
- Article Requests
The library staff will obtain any article you need and send it to you electronically. Turnaround time is usually 24 hours.
- Book Requests
The library staff will borrow any book you need from another library. Turnaround time is usually about a week, and the loan period varies depending upon the library, but usually about 3 weeks. PLEASE NOTE: We cannot borrow books for your college classes.
- Interlibrary Loan
If the Oakwood Medical Library doesn't own the journal or book you are looking for, we can obtain it for you from another library. The item may take up to 7 days to receive, and a fee of up to $15.00 may be incurred which can be charged back to your cost center. To request an interlibrary loan, click on the link above to fill out the form online, or call or visit the library.
- Remote Access to the Library Resources
Most of the library databases, journals and books are available remotely. Contact the library staff for password access.
- Mobile Device Resources
Virtually all of our library resources are available on your tablet, smart phone or other mobile device. Follow these instructions for gaining access. If you need assistance or support, contact the Medical Library.
- Automatic Monthly Updates
If you have an ongoing research interest, we can store your literature search and have it run on a monthly basis against the new citations being loaded into the database. Therefore, you get a list of the newly published articles on your topic.
- EndNote Software
EndNote is a software program that allows you to create, manage, and store bibliographic references for easy access and sharing. This software is loaded on two computers in the Medical Library Computer Lab.
- Information Services for Patients & Families
The library can provide easy-to-understand information for patients, family members and the community. Contact the Medical Library for a personalized information packet on your subject.
- Exam Proctoring
The Medical Library will proctor your exam if you are enrolled in an online course. Contact us at (313) 593-7685 to get the Exam Proctoring Form necessary.
The Medical Library offers the following study guides:
- MKSAP / American College of Physicians
- MKSAP 16 (2012) - These books cannot be checked out of the library. You may make photocopies.
- MKSAP 16 Audio CDs (2012) - These CDs can be checked out for 1 week. There is a limit of 2 specialty sections.
- MKSAP 15 (2009) - All of these books can be checked out for 1 week.
- Med Study Internal Medicine Review
- Med Study Books (15th edition, 2013) - These books cannot be checked out. You may make photocopies.
- Med Study Videos (2014) - The individual DVDs can be checked out for 1 week. There is a limit of 2 specialty sections.
- Med Study Books (13th edition, 2009) - These books can be checked out for 1 week.
- Med Sutdy Videos (13th edition, 2009) - The individual DVDs can be checked out for 1 week. There is a limit of 2 specialty sections.
- ACC SAP / American College of Cardiodlogy
- These books can be checked out for 1 week.
Please be considerate of other library users for these high-demand items. Return them as soon as you are finished with them. There are others waiting to use them.
Oakwood Hospital - Dearborn
18101 Oakwood Blvd.
Dearborn, MI 48124
(313) 593-7692Send Email
7:30am-5:00pm Monday through Friday